Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for an Acupuncturist.
For Licensure as an Acupuncturist, the requirements are as follows and can be found in Section 457, F.S. and Rule Chapter 64B1, F.A.C.
- Is at least 21 years of age
- Must submit application and fee for licensure
- Completion of a training program
- Completion of a 2 hour course in the Prevention of Medical Errors.
- Passage of an examination offered by the NCCAOM or state examination approved by the board as substantially equivalent.
- Proof of English proficiency (only for applicants that have passed the national written examination in any language other than English)
- Proof of professional liability insurance coverage
Training Program Criteria
ENROLLED in program Prior to August 1, 1997 Completion of 2-years of study, which includes but is not limited to:
- Western Anatomy
- Western Physiology
- Western Pathology
APPLIED for licensure on or after August 1, 2001 Completion of an ACAOM candidate or accredited 4-year master’s level program or foreign equivalent in oriental medicine:
- Western Anatomy
- Western Physiology
- Western Pathology
- Western Biomedical Terminology
- First Aid
- 15 hours – Supervised Instruction in Universal Precautions Applicable to Needling Techniques
- 20 hours – Florida Laws and Rules
ENROLLED in Program on or after July 31, 2001 Completion of 8 hour program that incorporates the safe and beneficial use of laboratory test and imaging findings.
The Board currently approves as the Florida Examination for licensure the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) Exam, consisting of the Foundations of Oriental Medicine Module, the Acupuncture Module, the Point Location Module, the Biomedicine Module, and the Chinese Herbology Module. All applicants should contact the NCCAOM directly to take the examination.
76 South Laura Street,
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Phone: (904) 598-1005
Fax: (904) 598-5001
Applicants with Criminal History
Any applicant who has ever been found guilty of, or pled guilty or no contest/nolo contendre to any charge other than a minor traffic offense must list each offense on the application. Failure to disclose criminal history may result in denial of your application. Each application is reviewed on its own merits.
The Board of Acupuncture has created guidelines for specific offenses to be cleared in the board office; however, staff cannot make determinations in advance as laws and rules do change over time. Violent crimes and repeat offenders are required to be presented to the Board of Acupuncture for review. Evidence of rehabilitation is important to the board members when making licensure decisions.
Applicants with prior criminal convictions are required to submit the following documentation to the board:
Self-Explanation - Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit a letter in your own words describing the circumstances of the offense.
Final Dispositions/Arrest Records - Final disposition records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.
Completion of Probation/Parole/Sanctions - Probation and financial sanction records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. Parole records for offenses can be obtained from the Department of Corrections or at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.
Letters of Recommendation - Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit 3-5 professional letters of recommendation from people you have worked for or with.
Applicants with Disciplinary History
Applicants who have ever been denied licensure, had disciplinary action taken against their license, or have action pending against their license to practice any health care related profession by a licensing authority are required to submit the following documentation to the board:
Self-Explanation - Applicants who have listed disciplinary action on the application must submit a letter in your own words describing the circumstances of the action.
Agency Records - All relevant documentation regarding the action should be sent to the board office by the licensing agency. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on agency letterhead sent from the licensing agency attesting to their unavailability.
Applicants with Health History
Applicants who answer yes to any of the health history questions on the application are required to submit the following documentation to the board:
Self-Explanation - Applicants must submit a letter in your own words describing the circumstances. Include a description of all treatments and diagnoses you received for any condition/impairment you were treated for. Include all medications prescribed and all physicians/counselors seen. Evidence of rehabilitation is important to the board members when making licensure decisions.
Physician(s) Letter - Applicants must submit a statement from your treating physician/ counselor for each condition you are/were being treated for and whether or not you are able to practice Acupuncture. Include all DSM IIIR/ DSM IV, Axis I, II, and III diagnoses.
Health Care Fraud; Disqualification for License, Certificate, or Registration
Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended: o For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation; o For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation; o For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
- Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
- Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
- Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities. The section above does not apply to candidates or applicants for initial licensure or certification who were enrolled in an educational or training program on or before July 1, 2009, which was recognized by a board or, if there is no board, recognized by the department, and who applied for licensure after July 1, 2012.
Tips for Expediting the Licensure Process
- Please read all application instructions, and the laws and rules governing the practice of Acupuncture, before completing your application. Errors and omissions on the application increase processing time.
- Within 30 days of receipt of the application, you will be sent a written application status notice or your eligibility letter, as applicable.
- No application is complete until all required documentation and fees are received.
- Applications are reviewed and processed in the order in which they are received in the board office.
- All transcripts must be the final official school copy and submitted directly from the school (school seal must be embossed on the transcript).
- Address all correspondence to the attention of the Board of Acupuncture and include your name.
- Send a copy of the CCAOM CNT course completion certificate OR the school can place the 15 hours on the transcript or complete the form attached to the application.
- Remember to have your insurance company send proof of insurance or proof of exemption.
- Request the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) to send a copy of your Certified Diplomat Status form to the Board of Acupuncture. You may send a request to the NCCAOM at the address listed above.
Fees and application with corresponding documentation must be mailed to:
Department of Health-MQA
Board of Acupuncture
P.O. Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330
Supporting correspondence not associated with any fees must be mailed to:
Department of Health-MQA
Board of Acupuncture
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3256
Required Continuing Education for Initial Licensure
Applicants are required to submit proof of completion of a two (2) hour continuing education (CE) course relating to prevention of medical errors prior to issuance of license.
The total fees required to receive your Florida Acupuncturist license are composed of three separate parts:
- Application Fee – same for everyone regardless of when the application is submitted or the license is issued
- Initial Licensure Fee – effective April 6, 2014, this fee is no longer prorated based on the date your initial license is issued
- Unlicensed Activity Fee – this goes towards helping to protect the citizens of our state from the unlicensed activity of healthcare professions
|Initial Application Fees*:||$200.00 (non-refundable)|
|Initial Licensure Fee:||$200.00|
|Unlicensed Activity Fee:||$5.00|
*All licenses expire on February 28th, every even numbered year. Checks, certified checks, or money orders should be made payable to the “Department of Health.”
Applicants and licensees are responsible for the fees outlined in applicable board or department rule at the time an application is received. If you have questions, please contact us for more information.
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)